Made of coral stone blocks, this grand stairway of four flights and 174 steps was constructed under the direction of Fr. Antonio Yus, parish priest from 1847 to 1849, to improve contact between Napo (downtown) and Moto (uptown).
A fifth flight of 38 steps leads to the convent (now Sacred Heart Academy) at the back of the Our Lady of Light church. The promenade concludes in the old wharf popularly called Tulay where a visitor gets a majestic view of the sea, the mangrove areas and the mountains of Loon and Cebu across the Cebu Strait.
Loon is some 27.5 km north-west of Tagbilaran City, along the route to Tubigon. Visitors can catch a bus to Tubigon from the Integrated Bus Terminal in Tagbilaran and ask the driver to let them out in Loon.
For detailed information, please contact:
Reigh P. Monreal
Municipal Tourism Action Officer
+63 38 505 9131
(Text and photo: Municipality of Loon website)